THE STATES assembled on Thursday 11th December, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Deputy Bailiff, Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, Lieutenant-General Andrew Peter Ridgway, C.B., C.B.E., was present

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier- en défaut (défaut raised at 9.38 a.m.) Deputy Sean Seamus Patrick Augustine Power of St. Brelade- excused

Prayers

Appointment of Ministers

The Chief Minister designate announced, in the order in which he wished the States to vote on them, his intended nominations for Ministerial office and his proposals as to the Ministerial office to which each nominee would be assigned, as follows –

| Treasury and Resources | Senator Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf |
|----------------------------|--|
| Economic Development | Senator Alan John Henry Maclean |
| Planning and Environment | Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen |
| Health and Social Services | Senator Paul Francis Routier |
| Home Affairs | Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand |
| Social Security | Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement |
| m 1 m 1 1 1 0 | |

Transport and Technical Services Connétable Michael Keith Jackson of St. Brelade

Education, Sport and Culture Deputy James Gordon Reed of St. Ouen

Housing Senator Terence John Le Main

THE STATES, in accordance with Standing Order 117, appointed Ministers as follows –

Minister for Treasury and Resources

Senator Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf was nominated by the Chief Minister designate.

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier was nominated by Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff –

| Senator Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf | 38 |
|--|----|
| Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier | 13 |

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf had been duly elected as the Minister for Treasury and Resources.

Minister for Economic Development

Senator Alan John Henry Maclean was nominated by the Chief Minister designate.

Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier was nominated by Deputy Tracey Anne Vallois of St. Saviour.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff –

Senator Alan John Henry Maclean

Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier

20

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator Alan John Henry Maclean had been duly elected as the Minister for Economic Development.

Minister for Planning and Environment

Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen was nominated by the Chief Minister designate.

There being no other nominations as a Minister and assigned to the Ministerial office proposed, the Deputy Bailiff declared that Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen had been duly elected as the Minister for Planning and Environment.

Minister for Health and Social Services

Senator Paul Francis Routier was nominated by the Chief Minister designate. Senator James Leslie Perchard was nominated by Senator Ben Edward Shenton.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff –

Senator Paul Francis Routier 21 Senator James Leslie Perchard 31

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator James Leslie Perchard had been duly elected as the Minister for Health and Social Services.

The Deputy Bailiff invited the Chief Minister designate to make a further announcement of his remaining nominations and proposals for assignment to the remaining Ministerial offices. The Chief Minister informed the Assembly that his revised nominations would be as follows –

Home Affairs
Social Security
Social Services
Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand
Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement
Connétable Michael Keith Jackson of St. Brelade

Minister for Home Affairs

Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand was nominated by the Chief Minister designate. Senator Stuart Syvret was nominated by Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff –

Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand 34 Senator Stuart Syvret 18

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand had been duly elected as the Minister for Home Affairs.

Minister for Social Security

Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement was nominated by the Chief Minister designate.

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier was nominated by Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff -

Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement 36
Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier 16

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement had been duly elected as the Minister for Social Security.

Minister for Transport and Technical Services

Connétable Michael Keith Jackson of St. Brelade was nominated by the Chief Minister designate. Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour was nominated by Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff –

Connétable Michael Keith Jackson of St. Brelade
Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour

19

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Connétable Michael Keith Jackson of St. Brelade had been duly elected as the Minister for Transport and Technical Services.

THE STATES rejected a proposition of Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier that the present meeting should

Members present voted as follows -

POUR: 7 CONTRE: 44 ABSTAIN: 0

Senator P.F. Routier Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S) Deputy J.A. Martin (H) Deputy of St. John Deputy T.M. Pitman (H) Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H) Deputy J.M. Macon (S) Senator S. Syvret Senator T.A. Le Sueur Senator P.F.C. Ozouf Senator T.J. Le Main Senator B.E. Shenton Senator F.E. Cohen Senator J.L. Perchard Senator A. Breckon Senator S.C. Ferguson Senator A.J.H. Maclean Senator B.I. Le Marquand Connétable of St. Quen Connétable of St. Helier Connétable of Trinity Connétable of Grouville Connétable of St. Brelade Connétable of St. Martin Connétable of St. John Connétable of St. Saviour Connétable of St. Clement Connétable of St. Peter Connétable of St. Lawrence Connétable of St. Mary Deputy of St. Martin Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier **(S)** Deputy J.B. Fox (H) Deputy G.P. Southern (H) Deputy of St. Ouen Deputy of Grouville Deputy of St. Peter Deputy J.A. Hilton (H) Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H) Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L) Deputy of Trinity Deputy S. Pitman (H) Deputy K.C. Lewis (S) Deputy I.J. Gorst (C) Deputy M. Tadier (B) Deputy A.E. Jeune (B) Deputy A.T. Dupré (C) Deputy E.J. Noel (L) Deputy T.A. Vallois (S) Deputy M.R. Higgins (H) Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

THE STATES adjourned, having agreed to reconvene on Friday 12th December 2008 to continue the appointment of Members as Ministers and Scrutiny Panel Chairmen.

THE STATES rose at 5.39 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States